Water 2

water-2I enjoyed a relaxing Christmas staying with family in Penzance with plenty of time to sew. I’ve been working on this piece for a little while – its another in the series inspired by water pipes on our local beach.  As you can see, I’ve taken the pipe theme a little more literally this time and I’m very pleased with the outcome. I dyed a range of fabrics with Dylon, cut them and assembled them in patches. I used my funky foam stamp, as in Water 1, to randomly stamp the surface, this time with green and copper colours echoing the seaweed coated seawall. I decided to integrate the piece using a twin needle to run from top to the bottom of the fabric in broad swirls.  I broke 2 needles in the process, so decided to add some single needle stitching too!  I made some cords using the sewing machine and machine zig-zagged them in place.  They seemed to embed themselves withing the fabric rather than sit themselves on to it.  Should I have used a cording foot?  So, I decided to hand couch a couple of the others on to the surface. After various experiments I settled on some thicker handmade cords for the protrusions. (Water 3 which is also in progress will cut-away the surface – I didn’t want them to be too similar). I painted the inside of the protrusions with purple/bronze acrylic.  It was dry brushed so the fabric texture shows through.  Shining a light makes them glow.  Maybe I should consider a lampshade project another time?  The 2 thick cords at the top and bottom are wired with pipe-cleaners to give some support to the shape. I’m pleased with the result – something a bit different, yet again!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Water 2

  1. Pingback: H20 @ Quay Arts | Bright & Beautiful

Leave a Reply

