A Line of Flight

Finding it impossible to take it easy over the summer.  I was so inspired by the theme of the September TRAC exhibition that I decided to take part after all.  The exhibition is going to take place in Gallery Art Space Portsmouth, which is situated in a beautiful old building filled with artists studios.  It is not going to be a sales opportunity, which suits me. The theme to move away from what you usually do gives me the perfect opportunity to really try out something I’ve been inspired to do for a long time.  I love the work of weaver, Sheila Hicks, and some years ago my husband made me a pin weaving frame just like hers.  It has sat in the  corner of my room with its nails catching on my leg every now and again, reminding me of its presence.  So using some sketches and photographs taken in Portsmouth on a TRAC painting day out, I started to weave.

Weave 1My line of flight was to attempt to work with the man made, architectural forms.  I thought about working without colour too, but that was just a flutter too far.  The piece here is inspired by some flats across the water in Gosport.  I see them everyday on my way to work and watch the ever-changing sky surrounding them.  The handmade felt used to frame the piece is also woven and is reminiscent of the sky on a stormy day, that kind of light you get at the seaside when the sun is bright but the clouds are dark.  If you look closely, you will see the sun filling the room behind one of the windows.

Leave a Reply

