Stitched, felted pebble

This little project kept me occupied whilst stewarding at the Garlic Farm.  I made the pebble at a TRAC workshop a little while ago and its been sitting on my table ever since.  It was made to stitch into and I enjoyed it.  I wanted it to be bold and I think it is.  I never know what to do with those silk cocoons – the lumpy bits which I’ve stitched over.  What are you supposed to do with them?  It also includes metal washers out of the garage, that were stitched around in the same way as the Dorset posies.  I originally looked for rusty ones that I was going to include as they were, but I think that’s for a different project.  I have incorporated a range of stitches, including chain stitch, sorbello and whipped stitches.  I’ve also included a handmade bead  – the long pointy one, made using a long triangle of fabric, backed with bondaweb, wrapped around a kebab skewer and stuck with a soldering iron, I seem to remember.  I like the sticky out beads too – piling one on top of the other.  I’m taking it to sit on my desk at work next week –  to add colour to the stark whiteness, and it will be useful too!

Paperweight

Leave a Reply

