My Fantastic Cabbage!

My Fantastic Cabbage

My Fantastic Cabbage

Ta da…. My Fantastic Cabbage! The finished piece, complete with butterflies and caterpillar.  The butterflies were made using stumpwork techniques, although not strict to the rules of 1 strand of cotton at a time.  I wanted to show the veins of the butterflies and using 4 strands of silk gave me the desired effect.  Their bodies are made of handmade felt beads and wire was wound around to secure legs and antennae. The caterpillar is handmade felt, rolled rather than needle-felted, finished with French knots.  Just one hole is cut into the cabbage and some nibbled edges.  It’s not to scale, which  adds a fantasy feel to the piece.  Great fun to make.  What next, bee on a pea?

One thought on “My Fantastic Cabbage!

Leave a Reply

