Stitching onto the dyed fabric

I just needed to stitch and the rose-dyed, iron modified piece of tie-dye was my starting point. I like to start with descriptive words; what does this fabric conjure up to me? Points, jagged, crystals, crinkles, zig-zag, shards, veins ….  Then translate those into stitch: running, back, closed blanket, long-armed cross, fly, fern, Holbein, straight…. How do the words translate into colours?  Ice-blues, greys, winter purples, hot pink for highlights. Finally sketching with my favourite water-soluble oil pastels – just to get the idea.  I wanted the thread to take the journey along the dye lines and crinkles.  An unusual piece for me, but satisfying to hand stitch.

Stitching on the dyed fabric

 

Leave a Reply

